STATE

LICENSING

Shoulder Treatment
fsmtb-logotrans-horizontal.png

Notice to CAMTC Applicants

- 2019/2020 LEGISLATION CHANGE -

On September 19, 2018, the Governor signed SB 1480 into law.

This stated that (among other things) passage of a CAMTC approved exam is not currently required for CAMTC Certification.

While the law previously imposed this requirement, the requirement to pass a CAMTC approved exam has been suspended through December 31, 2021.

california-massage-therapy-council-logo-

As of July 1, 2018, Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) content has been updated.


To review these changes, as well as MBLEx policies, please refer to the 2018 MBLEx Candidate Handbook.

Updated MBLEx Content

Image by Annie Spratt

State Certification (California)

CAMTC CERTIFICATION

4.

5.

6.

Pass one of the following CAMTC-approved exams:​

  • National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) – Taken on or before February 2015

  • National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) - Taken on or before February 2015

  • New York State Massage Therapy Examination

  • Board Certification Exam in Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (BCETMB)

  • Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx)

Pass a Live Scan fingerprint background investigation specific to CAMTC and not be in violation of any of the provisions of the California Massage Therapy Act or any policy, procedures, or regulations of CAMTC.

All applicants are required to submit fingerprint information to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) via the Live Scan Process. Previously processed fingerprint cards or photocopies of fingerprint impressions are not acceptable.

​Total Cost for CAMTC Certification

  • $200 Application Fee (Valid for 2 years)

  • $25 Background Check Fee

1.

2.

3.

CAMTC Certification allows massage professionals to practice massage therapy throughout the State of California without the need to obtain multiple permits or pay additional fees.

To be eligible to apply for state certification with the CAMTC, each student is required to:

Be enrolled in a CAMTC-approved program, at a CAMTC-approved school.​ IPSB is an approved school.

Register at https://www.camtc.org/massage-professionals/

Complete an application in its entirety and provide satisfactory evidence that: ​​

  • you are 18 years of age or older

  • ​you have successfully completed the curricula in massage and related subjects totaling a minimum of 500 hours from a CAMTC approved school​​
  • of the 500 hours, a minimum of 100 hours of instruction shall address anatomy & physiology, contraindications, health & hygiene, and business & ethics.

Submit an IPSB Transcript Request Form. IPSB @ LEI will forward a completed transcript directly to CAMTC and the FSMTB, if you plan to sit the MBLEx exam.

NCBTMB Certification

Board Certification is the highest voluntary credential attainable in massage therapy and professional bodywork with a distinct level of achievement beyond entry-level licensure.

To apply for the NCBTMB Board Certification, each student is required to:
  • Pass the BCETMB exam

  • Complete 750 hours of education

  • Complete 250 hours of professional hands-on experience

  • Pass a criminal background check

  • Agree to uphold NCBTMB's Standards of Practice & Code of Ethics

  • Agree to oppose Human Trafficking

ncbtmb.png
Swedish Massage

Most of our courses qualify for NCBTMB Continuing Education Credit. View them HERE.​